Aircrack-ng revisited

overwraith

So I have run an Aircrack-ng crack on my own wifi network a couple of times since I last posted, but I have some more questions, and since I am taking a forensics class that is asking about this suite I guess I better ask these questions.

The Pineapple can run the Aircrack-ng suite, but it is hardly ideal due to it's insufficient processor. Now if I wanted to run this software on my laptop, a Windows box (Aircrack-ng now has a Windows client) what sort of injection adapter would I need? Would the Hak shop adapter even work on the Windows box with the Aircrack-ng suite:

ALFA USB WiFi AWUS036NEH

What adapter specifically do I need? I am a little new to the wifi hacking, so I don't know everything yet.

I wouldn't really use windows for wifi hacking as far as i know windows doesn't do injection :sleep: , best to use Kali-linux in a VM or boot it live , as for adapter the most widely used has to be the Alfa awus036h i have 2 and they are great.

Edited by z3rocool

Aircrack has a problem with WIN OS but can work with a bit of tweaking look at this link http://www.aircrack-ng.org/doku.php?id=aircrack-ng_suite-under-windows_for_dummies

This will guide you through the whole procces if you dont fancy doing this download a linux distro such as Kali Linux which already has it installed and run it from a USB stick on your laptop.

Good Luck

Yes that would be the way to go I can vouch for the IBM X60 the on board wireless cards inject and thease notebooks can be picked up quite cheap now they run very well with just 2GB Ram I have 2 both duel core 1.8 and work very well with Back Box Linux and Kali Linux and as z3rocool states the Alfa AWUS036H is excellent, and if you want a good book to read on Aircrack-NG get yourself a copy of Vivek Ramachandran's book BackTrack 5 Wireless Penetration Testing, excellent book to get you started and you can do most of the lessons with any distro that has Aircrack-NG installed.