Help getting to NextGen!

street1314

Greetings, sorry for the wall of text and thank you for those of you who read through it entirely.

I am a junior network security professional... i guess. I have my first job in the industry and i am looking for guidance on how to get to the next level. Firstly i will list my current skillset and then i will discuss my desired field. I am about to graduate university with my BA in CS but i feel it hasn't prepared me or given me the knowledge i was after. (Maybe i was lazy when i should have been more proactive) I know basic programming, Java and C++ syntax, basic structures and functions. I never really considered myself a programmer because building a program from start to finish was always hard for me. I can read someone else's code and understand what it is doing, but creating it myself is near impossible. I have my Security+ cert with some very limited network and deadbox forensics. I have taken a couple CEH equivalent classes (Outside of my university) and was able to learn and use the tools provided with success. This, however, only made me feel inadequate because using someone else's tools without knowing what they do is disheartening to say the least. And lastly, my current position has me doing security appliance installation with a lot of the new expensive toys like fire-eye etc.. So to sum up my current low level skills:

• Basic NCASE + FTK deadbox and network forensics
  • Average network security fundamentals (Sec+)
  • Basic Programming Knowledge (Object Oriented)
  • Basic CEH experience, using premade scripts to find vulnerabilities i don't understand and deliver a reverse shell
  • Average experience with current security vendor technologies.

My desired Field would be Pen tester - Network Incident Response - Reverse Malware Engineer