HP proliant microserver vs. custom build

cisto1999

Hi,

i am very new to server / NAS -segment and all this stuff. But i want to have my own home server for data backup, cloud storage for about 10 users. The server will be located inside a homenetwork which firewall i don´t have access to and with dynamic IP - so i guess i have to use the standard-ports to reach the server from outside?

My main question is: Would you recommend a hp-proliant microserver over a custom-build (i like to build my own pcs :-) - so building the thing wouldn´t be a problem) - but the hp micorserver seems to come for a very good prize. I know that i would sacrifice a little bit of upgradability with that. How is it with internet-security? Does HP use any suspicious hard-or software which can specified as spyware?

And what OS/Software would you recommend? I tend to use FreeNAS or Linux-Server and Seafile for cloud-function.

Any recommendations on these things?

Thanks for all help in advance.

Edited by cisto1999

When you say home network I'm thinking NAT. To access any machine on a NAT-ed network you need to change the settings on the router/firewall such that traffic to port X on the router/firewall will be transferred to your NAT-ed machine port y. If you can't make this happen, your storage solution won't be accessible to the outside network. The IP is slightly less of a problem. You could have a process on your fileserver check the external IP using any of the "what's my ip" websites and parsing the output. When it changes, it can update a dynamic domain service like no-ip. Since that particular one expires a hostname after 30 days, it's a good idea to include an automatic update once per week, even when the IP address didn't change.