Kali/wireshark on a VM

Skyrunner

Hey all! I'm new to all this security related hacking and want to learn more about pentesting etc as I have chosen to study cyber security at university this September!

Anyway, my problem right now is, that I want to do some basic http sniffing with wireshark. What I've done is I have set up kali on a Virtual box (bridged) on my laptop and am trying to sniff the web pages I load on my computer. Both are connected to my home network however, for some odd reason wireshark isn't picking up any http from my computer or any signals. Though, its picking up packets from other devices on the network! I can surf the internet and when I run a netcat scan it is able to identify what else is there on the network but for some reason it won't sniff my http on my computer? Also I have made sure the pages I visit on my computer are http aswell...please help!

I've not got time to reply properly now but to see traffic in Wireshark you have to actually be able to see the traffic, that means it has to pass through the machine running Wireshark. Look at things like ARP cache poisoning, man-in-the-middle or simple bridge mode on a wired network to put your laptop between another machine and the router/switch (This is similar but different to the VM bridge mode).

I don't really understand what you're saying. I can see traffic going through wireshark, it shows all sorts including my router traffic if that's what you mean? I did read somewhere that you need a USB dongle to be able to do sniffing through VM but I can use the internet and nmap scan just fine. Not sure where I'm going wrong..it floods the whole box but when I filter http all i see is traffic from my laptop