How can I make Reaver better?

Phreakdaline5

I'm by no means a pro, but wireless juju is the realm of hacking that appeals to me the most, and it's what I've spent the most time toying with. I have some questions regarding Reaver. I HAVE been using it successfully, but as with any computer geek/gamer, I want it to go faster. =) Basically I'm trying to better understand exactly what factors affect the speed that Reaver attempts to crack WPS pins at. I know the obvious one, signal strength. Being further away from the AP, crappy wireless receivers and such will degrade the signal and make it more difficult to communicate. What I'm wondering is if that's all there is, or if there's a hardware component involved. On the surface, I'd think not, since it's a fairly small list of possible pins (when compared to the colossally more massive brute forcing of other types of passwords and keys), and it's going through them one by one. But like I said, I'm not an expert, so I figured I'd ask here and see if we can start a discussion about ways to optimize Reaver. I've read up a bit on toying with your options based on what types of security measures or limits might be in place on the router, causing timeouts and lockouts of course, still trying to get a grasp on what all is available there though.

1. Is there any real hardware component that affects reaver speeds at all?

2. Is there a base signal strength that is the "minimum" to even attempt? Or recommended? (for obvious cases when you can't physically sit on top of the AP)

3. Optimal recommendations for wireless adapters/antennae? Primarily in regards to speed, but also distance. (I currently use this [http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=9SIA3NY18R7732] but with a 9dBi omni.]