Where to start! :) NEWBIE HERE

lucasgor88

Helllooooooo there.
I been interested in hacking (white hat) for a good few years and only the last few weeks i have been looking into it more and more and trying to learn about it.

I was wondering where should I start?
What software and tool would be handy and easily to learn for beginners?

Cheers

I don't necessarily think it's what "tool" would be best or easy to use but more so as to what concepts and practices I should learn. I would start by understanding the types of attacks and how they are performed. Understanding the history of devices/programs/concepts and how they work will lead you to a better understanding. There is no simple way to say "here is how you hack". Hacking comes in many shapes and forms as well as uses. You first need to see what interests you, more so what do you mean by learning how to "hack". What is your goal?

Well here is how I got started.

Learn how to use a Linux operating system (Ubuntu, Kali-Linux etc.)
Learn how to use the terminal.

Get smart on the legal aspect of hacking/pen-testing so you avoid breaking the law.

Read a lot of history about computers and hacking. Some stories are fascinating.

Watch a few documentaries about hacking, some good tips there and a lot of graphic explanations.

Read a lot of hacker related books. Mostly ones that aren't outdated.

Learn at least one programing/scripting language. A good place to start is Python.

Learn how networking works, TCP/IP packets

Learn how to use these common programs: Metasploit, Aircrack-ng, Reaver, Wireshark, Nmap, sqlmap, Nessus, WPscan, Uniscan, THC-Hydra etc...

Get some hacker gear, like a usb wifi dongle that supports packet injection and monitor mode, a rubberducky etc.

Set up a workspace/lab where you can hack into your own secondary computer/laptop/router etc. Preferably weak and outdated operating systems.

Profit!