how can I become a full time pentester?

kerpap

No, I'm not going to ask "How do i become a pentester"

what I want to know is How did YOU become a pentester? What is a good course of action to find a job with a firm that does pentesting? what/who might they be looking for?

are there internships?

what if your experience is limited? for instance I have done security testing with back-track/kali but mostly white box stuff as part of my roll in general security. I am mostly self taught.

I want to get more experience and want to do this full time however it seems like a chicken and egg scenario where as in order to get a job pentesting I need experience but to get experience I need to have worked doing pentesting. OR I would have had to do black/grey hat type stuff. its not that easy to get access to a corporate network (legitimately) to practice on and practicing on my home network seems not enough.

I would guess that a "job interview" would consist of a lab. "here is a laptop, get from point A to B and avoid detection" or something like that to prove you understand the basics of pentesting (recon, foot printing, exploiting, cover your tracks reporting etc etc.)

maybe I am looking at it the wrong way I dont know. I dont know anyone else who even remotely comes close to being a "hacker" even within my peers at work. I know tons of people who can implement security solutions but none who can audit it strangely enough. I know a brilliant web coder and I asked him if he can help me audit web apps he said "I dont know how to hack".

what have some of your experiences been?

Ive looked into offensive security. actually to correct myself from my previous post, I knew 1 coworker who was OSCP certified but was real secretive about it and has since moved away somewhere and I lost contact with him.

I took a class in college called "Ethical Hacking" and I have also taken an online class of the same name but found them to be very basic. more conceptual and less hands on.