total noob problems

StormShadow

Hello everyone,

I have a pineapple mK IV, and can't get it set up. I have followed the instructions as best I could for someone without much of a background in this material. I am running the device on battery power, and have the the ethernet cable plugged into the the WAN/LAN port of the pineapple. In the network connections, two adapters appear: one is the LAN adapter, in which I have set it to share connection. The other is the wireless adapter, in which I have modified the IP address to be 172.16.42.42, with a subnet mask of 255.255.255.0, and a preferred DNS server of 8.8.8.8. The weird thing is, it initally worked, and I was able to navigate to the interface page, only the display was "too big", and I could interact with anything there. Since then, I've had no luck. A wireless connection shows up in the menu of available connections , called "pineapple", and I have to connect to this manually. I am able to ping the device successfully as well. I am running Win7. I'd appreciate any help....

Also, I'm confused by this phrase : From the “Home networking connection: drop-down select the wired Ethernet adapter directly connect to the WiFi Pineapple, typically “Local Area Connection”. Click OK, then YES to the warning....

Am I just really tired right now, or is that sentence confusing ? No amount of fiddling with any setting in network connections produced anything that looked like that ....

MC is that you? Either way...