Flashing Mark IV with Arduino

Right so I went out and bought myself an Arduino, now I have no idea how to wire it..

I figured it would be marked tx rx & GND but there are a whole bunch of GND spots and also im not sure how to make it 3.3v because its 5v but it does have a place marked 3.3v.

Is there a tut anywhere or can someone point me to where I can learn some more about what I need specifically? Really struggling to find much about it..

thanks

Dave

Sorry I'm new to messing with hardware!

What do you mean by PIN? Are your referring to the arduino board? I was under the impression that it powers from the USB only?

or do I need to take part of the board off?

Sorry about this I realise now I'm in deeper than I'm used to!

Thanks for your help!

Dave

If someone can walk me through this successfully on Skype I would be happy to make a small donation for your time! Let me know,

From googling about the PIN I'm reading that the arduino can be powered by the vin pin externally, is this what I need to do? How can I do this?

Thanks again!

Okay so I can power the arduino at 5v and the ap121u plugged in from the socket?

I thought that the power going through the tx and rx would be 5v from the arduino and therefore would brick the ap121u?

Or is it just usually okay to flash with 5v uart?

Thank you!

there is no "real" tension (voltage) passing through tx or rx... if you connect to your pineapple using only tx and rx, you should be able to dialog with the interface, whitout worring about vcc.. Don't panic, you are not going to brick anything (you can't de-brick!!) ;)

Okay thanks for that I'll give it a go now, you set me at ease about the bricking at least!

Have you done it with arduino? I've never used it before so I'm just gonna try and install it the way or supposed to and then I'm assuming it will just work but if not I'm sure I'll be back :p

Dave

• Make sure you have the alfa board or the hornet-ub board.