clustering and hypervisors

bow2me26

Im completely new to the subject and would like some help . I would like to create a high performance cluster running several virtual machines over with a low lvl hypervisor . But I dont know where to start so can someone please give me some information on some good software and tools preferably open source . Ive seen articles on other types of clustering but not anything to do with high performance clusters used with virtual machines . So please any information or tools would be helpful . Thanks for any assistance

I can run many VM's at the same time, but VM's clustered on the same HDD, will be a bottleneck. If you had a server rack, with ESXi setup and clustered VM's that each had their own set of raid disks, you'd see better performance. I'd say, setup your cluster in VM's to learn how to do it, but you'll see real results, with real hardware, fiber channel and raid setups over server type hardware configurations.

Now, if its GPU clustering, well, thats a whole other topic, and yes, you could build a beast of a machine for crunching data, but your data must be written in OpenCL or one of the compatible GPU processing languages, such as those used for password cracking or video rendering for special effects.

Real hardware clusters, with high speed interlinks, high speed drives, and fastest hardware, will get you results. 20 VM's in a home workstation on say, one HDD, will do shit for what you want other than learning how to configure a networked cluster, which in itself is good, but not for crunching data. Make sense?