Personnel files for 'Personal' use?

Pwnd2Pwnr

How's it hangin', Hak5? (To the left, I see)...

I was having a nice conversation with a friend of mine whom is a Manager at a very well known company. He was telling me about an issue they had with an employee whom altered their Personnel file. He said he was not sure if this was illegal, per say... but wanted my opinion on whether or not this is, well, illegal.

Company policies may differ; but I feel the bottom line is that the said employee defrauded the file. Apparently, the employee decided to erase names and times on an unknown amount of documents... including their W-2, write ups, etc.

Question: Have any of you heard of similar situations which led to any legal grounds or decisions? It is not quite embezzlement and it is far from ethical... what is your take? I think it is deplorable to say the least. Not a way to "Stay Classy".

I'm not a lawyer, but I gather some law was broken somewhere if the question has to be asked. Ethics aside, if they messed with files they weren't authorized to access, regardless if its W2 and Tax data, or someones Avatar on their email, its computer fraud and abuse, and most likely, against the law in nearly every state of the US depending on what they did, and if the employer presses charges. Outside the US, not sure what the laws are, but you don't even need a company policy to arrest someone for something like this, since it would be covered under various state and federal laws, so I'd say, whomever did anything, most likely should fix it and walk away quietly lest they find them self in jail. If it was data that can't be replaced or changed back, and they get caught, well, no one going to feel sorry for them if they get caught. They'll get whatever they deserve depending on the laws involved.

Thanks, Digip; I am still unsure on "how" they were accessed... but I think action may have been taken already.