App that watches WIFI

tom564

I am planning on creating an android app that watches for available WIFI access points and changing the phones audio level depending on what WIFI is available nearby(i.e. silent when at college), I have no experience with any language other than VB.net (useless i know) and don’t know where to start or if it is even possible. I was hoping someone here would be able to point me in the right way or let me know if it has been done before, any assistance would be greatly appreciated ,thanks

Well, Android phones are linux based, I assume you can get a shell open and do iwlist to see nearby AP's from a command line? You probably need to root the phone to install a shell browser(unless they are built in these days - I don't own an android). I would say if you can manage to script something in linux, you could probably do damn near the same thing with respect to finding compatible libraries for the phone, or just tie into ring tones maybe and make it play a specific ring tone for each of your known AP's you want to listen for. Just an idea...

Yeh I have rooted the phone and unfortunately iwlist is not available from the terminal, There must be some way intercepting the output the android os uses however i do not have a great deal of experience with Linux or android but i am still learning. thanks