Phone Phreaking - Expert Advice Needed!

whitehat

I know this is a long shot (since it's 2012), but we don't have any Phone Phreaks in the house, do we?

There's an older guy I have known for a couple of years from a Commodore club -- a real old school phone phreak. I respect the heck out of him and we normally get along really well, but we're having a little friendly disagreement right now, which has given way to him phone phreaking me a bit. He somehow made my calls forward to an adult bookstore and their calls forward to me.

It's in good fun, but obviously I want to hit him back. I have read old proto-hacker stories about phone phreaking, but I don't know any decent tricks that I can pull off on the modern phone system, other than Caller ID spoofing. I suppose a lot of it is social engineering; though I'm not really good at that at all.

Any suggestions, thoughts, tips, tricks, useful stories, or related download links?

Edited by whitehat

I've never delved into the phone scene, but he might have found something like an asterisk box or voice over IP system at the adult bookstore and found a way to use a home asterisk box and various voice over IP services to somehow bounce the calls to you. Either that, or he physically has access to their phone system and setup the call forwarding somehow. Most everything today is digital, but sure you could still find some actual phone wiring boxes in some parts of the world where you can cross wire number routing. I think thats what Kevin Mitnick did when he was on the run, has rewired the phones to point to someone elses address when he used it to make calls, the FBI showed up at some poor old guys house expecting it to be him.

If he did physical rewiring somewhere I assume it would look something similar to this(punch down block, not the tapping part), but again, I don't know much about the phone scene and what all the cool kids do today:

Edited by digip