Putting A Pineapple Between Router And Modem

Ploxors

Hey guys, this looks like it will probably be an iptables question.

How can I set up my pineapple to work if I want to put it inline between a home wifi router, and the cable modem it plugs into. Note that this is completely ignoring the wifi.

Basically I just want to inspect the traffic going across the line. I'll do my own scripting with that later,

Should I be plugging the modem into WAN, then the routers wan port into LAN on the pineapple?

Or should I be plugging the routers wan port into the LAN port of the pineapple, then the cable mode into the WAN port?

I've tried both, but neither will work out of the box, so now I'm guessing I will have to edit some iptables.... Which I have never done before.... So basically im just looking for advice here

Thanks everyone :)

you want it going into the poe lan of the pineapple and wan port out assuming only reason your not using a normal box is the fact you want to monitor your traffic going across the network? you will see alot of well junk coming in as well btw

in any case try the network manager module from the pineapple bar, also you may need to change settings on the router, the pineapple trys to send data to a 172. address and the router is probably a 192 or a 10

check these settings and if you are still having problems i will go troubleshoot it on my home network and post my findings :)

issue these commands:

iptables -A FORWARD -i eth1 -o wlan0 -s 172.16.42.0 -m state --state NEW -j ACCEPT
iptables -A FORWARD -m state --state ESTABLISHED,RELATED -j ACCEPT
iptables -t nat -A POSTROUTING -o eth1 -j MASQUERADE
[/CODE]

THEN plug modem into WAN/wifi router into LAN

should work, if not, post your routing table from the pineapple webgui