Security Setup?

Kuroudo Akabane

Ok, so I'm very new to computers and I'm using a HP 110 Mini netbook with the 32bit version of Windows XP Home...

I have about 120GB HDD and 1GB RAM. I have IE and FF as my browsers and FF is my primary choice.

I have the Windows Firewall and Automatic Updates turned on...

What other programs should I instal and why?

And how should I configure them so they don't interfere with each other or my normal internet usage?

My top two suggestions for windows would be Avast! antivirus. If you sign up with a free account you can turn on silent mode which will make the program never both you with pop-ups unless it is actually something of importance. Secondly I would suggest Spybot S&D. It is a free spyware and malware removal tool that also comes with a nifty background program called Tea Timer that constantly watches registry files and a few other key locations to ensure that nothing fishy is going on. If any scripts are ran that attempt to change any key components of your computer an alert will pop up, similar to the windows administrator prompts but without the locking of the pc. This includes both wanted and unwanted scripts, so it asks what you would like to do; allow, block and of course, "do this for all" (if you want the program to be useless click that). There are several other tools that can be used including network connection managers to ensure that no unauthorized connections are being made. I would also suggest the Firefox add-on "Add Block Plus", just to keep those pesky pop-ups away. I'm sure other forum members here will have plenty of other options as well (I could use a network manager myself). Hope this helps!