Should I Do This?

mormaii2

Hello guys, i'm quite new to linux and i've been experimenting lately with a few VMs (BackTrack and Ubuntu are just a couple to name). I'm planning on getting a new computer and i plan on using only linux on it. The question lies on which distro should i choose to use as a main OS? I will be doing INFOSEC stuff and coding as well as listening to music,watching videos,uploading pictures and that sort of thing. I was wondering if maybe BackTrack could be used as a main OS. Could you install some video players,music players, document editors,etc..? Is BackTrack stable enough to be used as a main OS? Is it safe? What about other distros such as Fedora or Debian? Would they be good for pentesting/casual use? I'm sorry for the poor phrasing of this post, my english isn't good. If you didn't understand something, let me know!

Hello guys, i'm quite new to linux and i've been experimenting lately with a few VMs (BackTrack and Ubuntu are just a couple to name). I'm planning on getting a new computer and i plan on using only linux on it. The question lies on which distro should i choose to use as a main OS? I will be doing INFOSEC stuff and coding as well as listening to music,watching videos,uploading pictures and that sort of thing. I was wondering if maybe BackTrack could be used as a main OS. Could you install some video players,music players, document editors,etc..? Is BackTrack stable enough to be used as a main OS? Is it safe? What about other distros such as Fedora or Debian? Would they be good for pentesting/casual use? I'm sorry for the poor phrasing of this post, my english isn't good. If you didn't understand something, let me know!

Backtrack is not a good choice for a "Main OS". It uses outdated almost everything for stability. Use an Ubuntu based distro. There is tons of help out there with Ubuntu based distros with the use of Google. Ubuntu is a Debian based distro.