Wonderful World Of Dns

bobbyb1980

Hello all. I've been doing a little experimenting for the past several week with bind9 and I am having some issues. I can successfully add zones and in theory have a functioning DNS server. However I am having a problem when it comes to redirects. Here is an example.

I create an entry for "www.testmylogin.com" then I clone "www.testmylogin.com".

When user types "testmylogin.com" they are forwarded to the malicious site, where they then enter their credentials.

However when the attack is over and it's time to redirect, "www.testmylogin.com" redirects to "login.testmylogin.com" which is actually a subdomain and therefore either forwards to the same IP or results in a 404 error.

Is there anyway to get around this, perhaps I can add an A record in testmylogin.com.zone? The problem is I am not a C programmer so the most I can do is guess with the conf files. I've tried adding the A record in the zone file, didn't work. Also tried playing around with the reverse DNS lookup file, didn't work either. I've read that there are several ways to do this, etc etc but I'm just looking for a way that works.

It also looks like in theory to verify the integrity of DNS you'd need to have a known good list of IP's for servers you use which would be a pretty long list.

Edited by bobbyb1980

Is the site "www.testmylogin.com" a real site for which you just changed the name for this post? Because it might be that the cloned site, has session data that if not logged in, redirects to the sub domain. Hotmaail for instance does stuff like this for login.live.com, so just wondering if its something you overlooked.

How would I flush the DNS on the victim? The victim is assigned this malicious DNS server from over the internet.