Help With Unlocking The Mkiii To It's Full Potential

Kristof

I'm just starting out with this, so I'm sorry if this sounds like a terrible question. But in all of the episodes I've seen Darren using the pineapple those that are connected to it are associated with another SSID. Unfortunately, I cant seem to work this out in mine, and only have it that they need to connect to the "pineapple" SSID in order for anything I code to work.

Any suggestions? Sorry again to sound like a n00b.

That feature in pineapple is called karma, make sure it is enabled. It will authorize any computer that is attempting to connect to any router. For example, if I had a computer called NICK-PC and when it powered on it searched for the SSID "wifi" the pineapple would pick up the request and snag the connection as if it were the router emitting the "wifi" SSID.

hope that helps.

Karma is on and enabled through the Web UI, is there anything on the back end I should be turning on? I know I'm in a target-rich environment while working and there are at least 4 different SSIDs broadcasting in addition to another not broadcasting.

no you shouldn't need to enable anything else to start picking up clients. But, karma does not actually broadcast all ssids i don't think, it only broadcasts the ssid "pineapple" (or whatever you change it to). But when client computers are looking for access points it will act as if it were the access point.

For example, when karma is enabled, and I go to view available wireless networks on my mac, I can see every ap I have ever connected too plus the pineapple ssid. No matter which one I select it will establish a connection to the pineapple.

R u running the latest firmware 2.1.2?