Student Claims To Have Hacked Our Network

XaVi3r

Ok so not exactly how I wanted to start my Tuesday but alas here I am. I work as a Network Admin in a k12 school district. A teacher came to me this morning and said that a student showed him that he could get to any file on our server including teacher home directories, business office tax information, employee personal info. Everything. Now this shouldn't be possible without Domain Admin privileges and I looked and only the IT staff has those privileges and the student has the exact same privileges and group policies that every student has. Students do not have access to command prompt and have no way (that I know of) to get to the registry editor. They also can not instal programs. Any ideas guys? Anything that I could be missing? Any help would be great this is ruining my morning as you can imagine.

Have you eliminated a miss configuration of the shared folders permissions? If so have you asked the students how they did it?

Assuming they have hacked there way in anything we can suggest would be pure guess work on our part. It might be a server that is missing a patch, it could be a key logger that logged an admin's login, it could be an easy guessable password, etc. Those students who have gained access will know how they did it (even if it is just running an exploit).

Do the network PC's have bios passwords? he could boot from linux and do anything he wants, or portable .exe's off a flash drive could allow him to escalate his privileges. Also you can get access to cmd easily simply with notepad and saving a specific file as .bat, you can also get access to cmd with paint as seen from a past hak5 episode. It really all depends on how you have 'blocked' things. Its the simple stuff that lets you get to the big stuff. He could be sniffing, dumping hashes, running exploits. You should probably just ask him. I used to do this kind of stuff all the time in high school lol.

Edited by soka80