Setting Up Awus036h On Acer Aspire One With Bt5

Flavius

First off let me say that I'm very new to linux. I know basic commands but that's about it. I decided to try my hand at really learning linux and security testing at the same time. To that end I installed BackTrack5 on an old Acer Aspire One netbook. Now I'm trying to set up an Alfa AWUS036H. It doesn't seem to be recognizing it. From the searching I've done it seems that the proper drivers for this adapter are already built in to BT5. I've tried manually adding wlan1 to the /etc/network/interfaces file to no avail. I know it has to be something really simple that I'm missing and I'm probably going to feel like the biggest idiot but I'm really not sure what to do. Any assistance would be much appreciated.

First off let me say that I'm very new to linux. I know basic commands but that's about it. I decided to try my hand at really learning linux and security testing at the same time. To that end I installed BackTrack5 on an old Acer Aspire One netbook. Now I'm trying to set up an Alfa AWUS036H. It doesn't seem to be recognizing it. From the searching I've done it seems that the proper drivers for this adapter are already built in to BT5. I've tried manually adding wlan1 to the /etc/network/interfaces file to no avail. I know it has to be something really simple that I'm missing and I'm probably going to feel like the biggest idiot but I'm really not sure what to do. Any assistance would be much appreciated.

does it work with windows or any other OS when you install the required drivers for the os?

i didnt have any problems using mine with BT5 or windows xp/7

you might have a faulty card if it wont work with any other os.

does it work with windows or any other OS when you install the required drivers for the os?

i didnt have any problems using mine with BT5 or windows xp/7

you might have a faulty card if it wont work with any other os.