50w Wi-fi Booster

flame

hello does anyone know how to build a 50w wi-fi signal booster. something were it would go between the usb wi-fi pen and the antenna. i know you can buy then for about 500 but i would like to make a diy one hoping to keep the cost down. can anyone point me to any tutorials are does anyone know how to make one. thanks :rolleyes:

50 watt power input or output. There is a difference. I'm not an electrical engineer, but that doesn't sound like something I want to be standing near when its on, either. There is a reason that wifi devices have specific wattage and frequencies they are aloud to work in. Its called safety.

If you've ever had an old police scanner or even a hand radio with a broken antenna, and held it for a while when on, you know why its important not to "cook" yourself with wireless devices. Know what you are doing before experimenting with something you could hurt yourself with.

Edited by digip

50 Watts?No...it is not a good idea on the microwave spectrum!

First You will face big problems if you try to home-made it,teflon PCB is a must....

shielding is difficult,switching even more.

And you will have to use INFLEX cable to connect the PA to the antenna.

Very unconfortable cable...to pass outside of the house.

And You need an Ham licence.

Connected to a proper parabolic antenna,we used to test for EME communications.

...1 Watt with a modified tv parabolic antenna,

will give a boost enough for your tests.

Working on high gain antennas is the right way to go.

50 Watts?No...it is not a good idea on the microwave spectrum!

First You will face big problems if you try to home-made it,teflon PCB is a must....

shielding is difficult,switching even more.

And you will have to use INFLEX cable to connect the PA to the antenna.

Very unconfortable cable...to pass outside of the house.

And You need an Ham licence.

Connected to a proper parabolic antenna,we used to test for EME communications.