Praying to the code Gods

Uncle Toxie

I'm still not sure how this keeps happening to me. My boss (the coder) comes to me (the NOT coder) and asks me to write a program/script to get a few things done. The fact that I am not a programer seems to lost on folks.

Anywho, this is what he wants done, if anyone knows how to do this or can point me in a direction so that I can try it, I will praise your name, in this thread.

We want to have a folder where we can drop some files, have them encrypted with GPG, FTP'ed to a set location, create a log of the transaction, and then delete the files in that folder. It would seem that he wants the script (or whatever) to scan the folder all the time so as soon as files are dropped in the folder everything kicks in.

It doesn't matter what the language is, he just wants it to work. The only experiance I have ever had was a year or so ago in VB6 so I am at a loss.

Thanks for any input, I'm headed back to Google.........

Not helpful to you in the sense of solving the dilema in the fashion of creating a program...but you should tell him bluntly, straight, and fairly that you aren't a coder and don't know how to do it. There's nothing he can say/do thereafter.

Now im no great coder... but the easiest way to do it i should think... from what you just said:

Linux box, samba for windows file shareing.. (so you can allow users to place files into there)

Then just have a cron job running every say 30 seconds.

(maybe checking if the files are still being written too first and deferring the task for another 30 seconds if they are.. so you dont encrypt half a file ;))

Which just, locks the folder. (chmod command) uses the commandline version of GPG to encrypt the folder... use the ftp command to upload it... then the rm command to remove the files and encrypted file you just made, you could even pipe all the information chucked out by those commands into a log file if you wanted.

Anyone else got any ideas?

I'd use perl

for ftp its: