Finaly Year Project(networking)

Overkill

hey guys im need need of your l33t advice!

so im a final year student at uni and i have decided to do "ARP cache poisoning through Man in the Middle attacks" for my final year project so here is a small overview what what i intend to do

*Exploring the design vulnerabilities in ARP

* The tools and methods which are used to perform MIMTM attacks based on the above vulnerabilities

*studying current available mitigation techniques available

*developing a new mitigation technique or improving a current mitigation technique ( i am leaning towards combining 2 mitigation techniques that already exist)

so what tools would you suggest that i use in this project?? will i be able to use the wifi pinapple or the Throwing Star LAN Tap?? or any other tool you guys might have?

i also plan to use Katana and Ettercap to demonstrate the attacks (physical machines will be used for this) i also would like to know more tools that i can use to do these attacks

i would greatly appreciate if you guys would be able to share your thoughts and ideas on this and hopefully guide me through doing the attacks part of this project

ive already emailed darren but didn't get any reply from him, but its ok i understand he has a lot of work to do

thanks in advance :)

Throwing Star LAN Tap in itself, is a sort of mitm, just hardware wise. A hub would be even easier, since you can see traffic for everyone at the same time, without having to monitor either in or out via the throwing star tap.