Simple Questions About Dnsspoofing With Ettercap

TT1TTONE

Firstly;

I want to mention that I'm new to the forums even though that I've followed the Hak5 show for a very long time, however - hi, everyone! :)

Now, I've got some questions that I think you guys might be able to help me out with;

I've been thinking for some time about doing a prank on my friends sometime when we are together at a LAN-party or so, by doing a DNS-spoof with Ettercap redirecting them to a clone of a regularly visited social site (Face...) which will have the look as if it had got hacked (or rather defaced). I've never used Ettercap before but I've seen a lot of tutorials on Youtube but unfortunately I've not been able to find its manual nor its official forums, so I'm not completely sure about how to go ahead. But if I've understood it correctly, the process of DNS-spoofing with Ettercap is done in the following 2 steps (very simplified):

1. Ettercap tells the default gateway that the URL of choice - www.URL.com - refers to my computers IP-adress.
  2. When people who's inside of that gateway tries to browse the site with that URL, the gateway recalls "Oh, that belongs to this (internal) IP-address" and redirects them to me.

Am I correct about this or is there something that I've missed or should be aware of?

Is the DNS-cache poisoning harmful in any way?

How do after the prank is done tell the gateway to forget about my spoof and go ahead and process/recognize that URL as it would usually do?

I don't want it to keep thinking that I'm the holder of that URL.

May I accidentally cause any harm to the network, my friends' computers or to someone/something else?

I really don't want to risk their belongings such as online accounts or infecting their computers with malicious stuff.