Joe_public's All Noob Question Thread

Joe_public

I am trying real hard to learn Linux (Back Track 5) I am brand new at this and just learned yesterday what a shell is and used for. I have searched tons of web sites and googled almost every question I have had. I learned that it is not godd to log in as root So I changed the root passwd and created a non-root user account.

Since I will need a lot of help and have tons of questions I don't want to make a new thread for every new noob question so I am making my own thread where I will ask my questions.

I will

• Search on my own for answers first by reading books and using Google
  • Try to limit my questions to no more than two a day
  • try to ask intelligent questions

I ask of you who chose to reply to my questions remember Linux was new to all of you at one time. My question may seem real simple to you but to a guy who has never used Linux it is like trying to navigate in a strange land and you don't even speak the language. When I post a question and have either found the answer on my own or it was answered by a member I will let it be known and post a new question whenever I have one.

If you have any sites, books or another study tips and/or aids please post them.

Question 1. How long does a grep command take? I am following alone with a Linux book and was told to try grep, but it has been over 5 minutes now. Also how do I stop a command that is stuck or taking to long to process?

How I currently have to stop bad commands is by stopping the VM player. I am guessing there is a way to force stop commands and processes like ctrl+Alt+Delete in windows. Can anyone help with this?

Question 1. How long does a grep command take? I am following alone with a Linux book and was told to try grep, but it has been over 5 minutes now. Also how do I stop a command that is stuck or taking to long to process?