User Adventures

Tru-Tek

Hello everyone! I just found this site a couple of days ago so I am brand new to Hak5. Might I say that this site is very well put together and very educational! Wanted to ask a question. Being a seasoned I.T. professional for over 15 years I ran into the most horrible user for the past two days. They ask you a question and you attempt to walk them through and they do nothing... I ended up doing a remote session with them to fix it myself. TWICE!!! I am normally patient, but when it comes to these types of people I ran out of patience real quick! My question is how do you deal with a user that is completely ignorant of PC's. You want to walk over there and take their PC away and give them a typewriter! :blink: LOL!

Let me guess are you working for an IT help desk or something alike. Well, I used to work for an IT help desk before and I can share your frustration very much. Let's put this way, its very hard to deal with clients over the phone. They can become very impatient and intolerable.

Not all clients are like that it all depends who you run into to. I did a lot of training to learn how to deal with that sort of clients and in the end I just gave up on the job I just couldn't bear with the frustration and stupidity of the clients.

But one thing I learned was that they become very appreciative of you, if you are on site with them resolving their issue. So even If you can't go on site, get someone who can, its easy that way, you don't stress yourself nor the client.

Well generally when you get an ID-10 T error, you them them PEBKAC and then tell them you will forward the call to someone who can help them. Then put them on hold and wait. Eventually, they will figure out that you aren't coming back on the line.