Itt Tech Questions

Depends on the teacher and how much extra work you put in when not in class. Networking and computers are a constantly evolving thing, but the fundamentals of networking are still pretty much the same as they have always been since the inception of network, with the addition of new protocols. Personally, I feel you can never have enough information and education in this regard. I started studying networking on my own, and then took the classes to be able to ask the questions I still had when I couldn't learn or understand it all on my own. Turned out, I knew pretty much everything they taught me in class, but I still enjoyed the class and learned somethings that I never had known before taking them, such as the OSI model, and a better understanding of subnetting.

Computers are one of those things that you have to do the tasks continuously to retain a lot of the info though, as not any one person can sit a class and know everything there is to know, so be all means, take the class, but know that to understand and learn it, you need to practice it on a regular basis as well if you want to be proficient in it.

Courses I enjoyed the most, were the networking and cisco based classes, and classes I loathed the most, were my MCSA/MCSE classes. Not that I don't understand windows, but Microsoft just does some things, that after having a cisco class, see counter productive, or even, completely backwards from the way you would network things in cisco devices. That said, pay attention, and suck up everything you can like a sponge and above all, practice everything you learn, and don't be afraid to speak up when you don't understand something. If you're paying to be educated, be sure to participate and ask questions, or it only hurts yourself in the long run. Don't think you know everything, because you will find out, there is always something to learn, even for seasoned geeks.