1. 1.

• Yes
    • No, but I want to learn it
    • No and I won't you damn geeks

• Replies 58
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

I code but its part of what I do for a living so unless an open source project interests me, which is very rare I am unwilling to help. 99% of the code I write is closed source, and that doesn’t bother me one bit.

I’m mainly a C and ASM man but I’m a strong believer of the right tool for the right job and I am happy working in:

Pascal

ASM

LISP

C

C++

C#

Java

Ruby

Perl

PHP

Python

COBOL

HTML

XHTML

CSS

VB

and a few other languages that aren’t used much.

Well, I know pretty much every "famous" language around, but I prefer Ruby and C++ :-) Though sometimes another language just fits better/is more fun. I discovered that it's actually very funny if you take a language like e.g. tcl which is easy to code but has strong limitations regarding the count of possibilities you have to achieve a task - the result is that you will have to shape your code so that it'll work best with that particular language. I just noticed that because in C++ and Ruby there are a f***ing million ways to say "Hello, World!". If you're really into C++ just read Modern C++ Design by Andrei Alexandrescu. Never seen something like that before.

Primarily Java and C.

Familiarity with Pascal, Perl, PHP, ASP, JSP... (I'm getting a tad bored of listing the usual suspects for the nth time)

Interest in ASM.

Image maniplulation things mainly. Coding is something i don't have a precise use for, but i can see as being useful as an general skill.

Hmm, image manipulation is a interesting topic as far as i know. For linux/insert_unix_or_whatever_derivative_here there are plenty of console-based image manipulation tools around (ImageMagick, etc). Are you talking about writing scripts which use those binaries for e.g. resizing or rather speaking of low level code, maybe blurring algorithms (gaussian blur)?