Dual Boot Ubuntu+xp, Xp No Longer Boots

NegativeSpace

I've recently installed Ubuntu 11.04 onto a single HDD machine that previously only ran XP. After installing Ubuntu, and using it exclusively for a few days, I tried to boot XP, and GRUB runs properly, and Ubuntu still boots normally, but when I tell GRUB to boot XP, I get a black screen with a blinking cursor and nothing else. I've never used GRUB before, and only tried Ubuntu for limited runs from live CD (never really had the time to take it any further). I issued sudo fdisk -l and learned that "partition table entries are not in disk order", and also that "partition 2 does not end on cylinder boundary". I'm not sure what these mean. I could really use some guidance. My goal is to get XP booting normally again, while keeping my working Ubuntu partition.

EDIT - I also forgot to mention that in the root of my hdd there is a BOOT.INI file, but there is also a BOOT.BAK file. I didn't create this boot.bak file, and I don't know what it's for or why it's there.

Edited by NegativeSpace

You could post here fdisk -l output.

as well as menu.lst on grub.cfg from /boot/grub/

Disk /dev/sda: 200.0 GB, 200049647616 bytes

255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 24321 cylinders

Units = cylinders of 16065 * 512 = 8225280 bytes

Sector size (logical/physical): 512 bytes / 512 bytes

I/O size (minimum/optimal): 512 bytes / 512 bytes

Disk identifier: 0xcab10bee

Device Boot Start End Blocks Id System

/dev/sda1 * 1 20021 160811560 7 HPFS/NTFS

/dev/sda2 23172 24321 9230760 c W95 FAT32 (LBA)

Partition 2 does not end on cylinder boundary.

/dev/sda3 20021 23172 25314305 5 Extended

/dev/sda5 20021 22789 22237184 83 Linux

/dev/sda6 22789 23172 3076096 82 Linux swap / Solaris

Partition table entries are not in disk order