Web server dos and don'ts????

proskater123

I want to set up a home based server with all the hott stuff. (Chat servers, ftp servers, and so on.) What can i use i already have a server for web but what can i use for chat servers and ftp that have the least amont of vulnerabilitys. TAnd the safeist to run on my only computer. please don't tell me the rsik i know alot. im just stupid. AND YES I ADMIT IT. IM A NEWB AND GOOGLE IS MY FREIND.

If you wan't a server with all of the hot stuff, starting with a web server is good. May I ask what type it is?

Anyway, vulnerabilities are occurent in any piece of software wether you know it or not. Basically, who is to know how secure you are. May I simply suggest a software and hardware firewall to aid you on your journey?

As for FTP server, you may want to kill two birds with one stone and use Synchronet. You can set up a BBS and an FTP server all in one.

As for a chat server, IRC sounds like the way to go, but I hear that they are really a pain to run, but also there is a simple daemon that will work.

http://www.apachefriends.org/en/xampp.html

Pretty much turns an old windows (less sercure by default) or linux box into a web server in about 5 clicks. When i was starting out with servers, this taught me a lot about how they work, and worked fine as a test/backup server for 4 months continuous usage. Install it, and turn everything but the ftp server off.

As for IRC, i think those are mostly run off of shells. Google for a free shell account and see how that goes.

Oh, and welcome to the forums!

4 months solid uptime on a windows 2003 server, not one issue... (turned it off when i moved house)