Beginning Python

NoCode

So I've decided to pickup coding, and I've decided to start with Python. I'll go ahead and say that I have zero experience. I've messed around with BASIC back in the 80's and QBASIC about 10 years ago, but never got to far. I have a year to kill in Afghanistan, so I might as well do something productive. I've been playing around with linux operating systems on and off for about 10 years as well. I'm thinking about going to school for something in the computer science / security field when my time in the Military is up.

Alright so anyways, I'm looking for some good literature for beginners. I downloaded "Dive into Python" but it's a little to fast for my taste and assumes you already know a good deal about programming. Downloadable (free) books is mostly what I'm after since mail takes about a month and sometimes it's difficult to get online out here.

Any help would be greatly appreciated! Thanks!

• 2 weeks later...

Try this http://couch.it/K4SzyQ4k/. If you can manage to watch YouTube out there, the Richard Buckland videos are a really great way to learn the basics of the C programming language (upon which Python was based). Once you have a bit of an idea about C, learning other languages (like Python) from books should be easier. Richard Buckland is actually a really good teacher and several people I know have learned to program by watching his lectures.

If you're in a hurry or can't get YouTube, try http://en.wikibooks.org/wiki/Non-Programmer's_Tutorial_for_Python_2.6.