How Can I Become Knowledgeable About Computers?

Halburow

Hello, I have been using a computer for several years now and it has occurred to me that even though it plays a major role in my life I know very little about it. I watched a few of the hack 5 shows and iv checked out many different forums and websites (hack this site, hack a day, exc.) but all of them seem to be way over my head and more focused on braking into peoples accounts and that kinda stuff. I just want to gain a better understanding of how programs and computers run and maybe make up some of my own programs. Iv been a hacker since I was a little kid, I always loved taking things apart and trying to put them back together in a new way and I think it would be so cool if I could do that with a computer. I got a book on C++ and Iv started in on that but I dont see how making a little box say hello world or do basic math can equate to something like this website im on right now. I plan to continue studying this C++ book but I was wondering if this book is the best place to start learning. Could someone give me some advice on this? Thanks for your time. Please contact me at learningemail@yahoo.com. I will also be sure to check this thread for reply's. (sorry if things are not quite right I read the entire how to post post but I couldn't understand a lot of the technical terms.)

Well, I guess you just have to let your curiosity lead you into discovering stuff about computers.

There's no real better way than this. Most of what I know is because I got interested in it and decided to start trying it.

I got more knowledgeable about bikes after I got one, same with cars and especially with computers.

In computers I started when my parents bought me one, and I started to play around with it. Since there wasn't so much internet back then (in 96), discovering every little thing in the computer was the most fun I've had. Plus, I liked to combine files in several games and make them work a bit differently.