What Laptop To Purchase

Thyphen

So I am somewhat new to network security but I have some knowledge with linux and I have played with knoppix-STD on my old laptop but I had to buy a wireless dongle to do anything interesting. So now I am looking to get into it a lot deeper and I would like to purchase a laptop dedicated to this. So essentially Ill be installing back track on this machine and thats it. I would like if it was small, thin and light but that usually means spending more money. I would like to keep my price range under $1000 but don't wish to really spend that much either. So I am wondering if I could get some suggestions for laptops to buy perhaps give me a couple suggestions starting with the lower price ranges of a few hundred dollars.

If its just a machine for backtrack (which is not an OS, its an application, if you want to use it for things other than shenanigans dual boot it), then I would suggest buying a 2nd hand machine. A Dell D620 would be fine, and you can use the spare cash to buy some form of wireless NIC with all the natty functions and a semi-legal output power rating.

If your looking to purchase new, my advice never changes. Get a Dell Latitude, pay for pro-support. They last for years, you can buy spare parts anywhere on the planet for years after they stop making them, you can field strip them with kitchen knife, drivers are always available, pro-support will replace pretty much any part next business day on-site and will deal with you no matter what OS you run. Plus, you can tweak the spec to match your budget. Solid bits of kit, no one else matches what Dell do (HP have similar options, but there site is a nightmare. Apple Care requires easy access to an Apple Store or you have to ship it. Acer, Toshiba, Sony etc, none of them come close). You might get something that runs faster, looks nicer, comes with a free printer etc, but IME a Dell Latitude is pretty much the AK47 of laptops.