I Need A Job

Sparda

I need a job but don't really know what I should do. I have seen a number of jobs posted that basically require you to be a jack of all trades (system administration combined with desktop support, some times web dev is even thrown in to the mix for the lulz), however, these jobs sound like night mare jobs.

For a year (university placement) I did desktop support (with a lovely mix of Windows and Linux with some OS X to keep things interesting) which I quite enjoyed as the people who I worked with were fantastic.

I have a degree entitled "Secure and forensic computing", have decent knowledge of Java, PHP, JavaScript, HTML. Basic knowledge of C++, Perl, Python, .NET stuff. Good at fixing stuff that broke (software/hardware/VCRs/DVD players/pretty much any thing).

I do rather lack confidence with regard to been in a position where a fuck up could actually be a massive fuck up. For E.g. writing bad code that has a rather large vulnerability (I assume that Microsoft and Adobe employees have to drink them selves to sleep every night).

Suggestions?

Depends what your after, the market is tough atm, especially for graduate jobs. My suggestion for keeping the wolves from the door is to do contracting in a support role and use your free time to look for something permanent. Upload your CV to jobsite, monster and reed (update them every friday), and take it from there. If you need an umbrella, check out Parasol, I used them for some time and they were ok.

As for fuck-ups, everyone has one, mine was loosing 4 years worth of email for a VIP user. It depends how you handle it.