What Do You Do?

okiwan

sorry if this has been done before, but im wondering what every one does for a living.

im in my late 20's about to go back to school an start in IT. i already have a degree in automotive technology.

im just wondering how many people here hack for fun or actually work in the field.

I work as a remote engineer officer, flying to remote schools to fix network and server issues.

On my spare time I just read general stuff on IT, about hacking, network and wireless security, virtualization and all the good stuff.

I also do a lot hacking and other networking stuff, like configuring servers, network and building computers.

I design websites for people like Offensive Security, Back|Track, Exploit-db.com, social-engineer.org, etc. I also do graphic design and have some IT certifications. I previously worked for a large bank, you may have heard of Commerce Bank which was bought by TD Bank of Toronto, Canada, but they moved all my work to Canada and laid off my entire department, so now I work as a freelance web and graphic designer.

I've been doing web and graphics for longer than I was doing IT related stuff, so in a way, its kind of been something to fall back on, but I would really like to go back to work in an IT related field, such as network and desktop support /NOC or System Administration. Just a poor market in my area at the moment and most people are contractors or hired from recruiters in my area, and for perm positions, they want to start me less than I make on unemployment, so not really an incentive at the moment to take an even further pay cut. I was making twice what I make on unemployment, and lets just say half that is the bare minimum I can survive on with a wife and two kids.