Hacked Email, Trace Ip

Boz

Hey,

a friend's yahoo account was recently hijacked with that "Mugged in London" scam. From the email headers I've seen that they used your-freedom.de to disguise their IP address. As I'm new to all this computer forensics/security I was wondering if there was any way to trace this back further.

I assume not as that would defeat the purpose of these services, but just wanted to ask some more knowledgeable people.

Anyway, Thanks guys.

Since the hijacker used a proxy server to conceal his ip address, it could become very difficult to trace back to the original ip address.

1. You will need to know the real proxy server ip address is.

2. You will also need to know the geographical location of the ip address.

4. You will need to know who is the owner of the ip address (eq, Internet Service Provider)

3. I don't want to discourage you, but I hardly doubt the proxy administrator will be willing to contribute, unless you take the matter to a legal court.

4. There is also the question, of whether the proxy server keeps a log of all the original IP addresses. In some cases, it does and in other cases it doesn't

All I can recommend is to, change the password to a more complex password, and do not use easy to guess security questions. If willing to change over email provider, use gmail.

Edited by Infiltrator

There really is no point to tracing back further.

1) It's a well known scam so the government knows about it

2) They used a proxy and the proxy service wont be tellin' who it was. Best off just reporting it to them as scam/spam based off of the full header info they can track it down on their end.

3) What would you do if you found out whom sent it?

Now say if someone sent you an email from their house without a router hooked up then yeah you could "respond" using their IP from the header.