Backtrack4 Wireless Problem

Vamper

I am new to back track. I have done some research and I new that bt4 wouldn't work with my on-board wireless card in my laptop so I got a usb network adapter. I am borrowing it and it's one of them wireless n from netgear and it's a wn111 v2 and I am not getting it to where I can find my network so I can connect. Just to add in there I am running bt4 from a usb so me and a friend can try it so we don't have to install it. I do know it will come up as ath0 and I got the network manger wcid come up on bt4 but it will not show the wireless networks or run the adapter. So I m just asking for help here I hope I provided enough information as well.

Thanks in advanced

Vampire Psycho

If your drivers are supported by Backtrack4 then use the wicd network manager.

Dragon icon, Internet, WICD Network Manager.

You may want to check any buttons on your laptop to turn on wifi.

Personally I have this button to turn on/off wifi. When i turned it off on Windows and dual booted to BT4 it wouldnt work. I had to have the wifi on in Windows, Reboot to BT4 and then it worked. Not sure what that button kills but Linux Wireless wouldnt work unless it was on because it didnt have the drivers to turn it on in BT4. Button support was a windows thing.

Check to see if BT4 recognizes your card or any wireless device.

command: iwconfig

then find your wireless device that is supported and do:

ifconfig (*DEVICE NAME*) up

example: ifconfig wlan0 up