Netbook Linux Distro Choice

dimz

I am rather new to this whole game. I really have only played around with open suse and ubuntu. Point at hand, I recently grabbed myself a netbook and was curious as to what would be a better choice of install - Ubuntu or Backtrack 4 -. I am interested in getting into security pen. I don't know that much as it stands and have gone onto a few different forums and browsed google for some answers on this question. I would really like to use backtrack but from what people are saying that the os has alot of tools that a newbie would not use and or no what to do with and that it is a bit more klunky as a main os as in hardware compatibility. So should I just go with Ubuntu? Or have a been mislead. I can always just do ubuntu and use backtrack on live. Idk, like I said I am still a beginner so if I have to do some serious tweaking to get hardware to be compatible under backtrack than it might not be my best choice right now. The netbook is just a basic Asus Eee.

Sorry if this seems like a small and unworthy question. :o

For security, BackTrack, hands down. Enough tools to get started, and most likely compatibility will be fine. uBuntu is fine as an OS, but do you want to have to track down all the needed tools, dependencies, compile and install those not in a normal apt-get repository, etc, etc.

Any questions about compatibility, check out their site: http://www.backtrack-linux.org/

Most issues you will see are wireless related, but often everything else will work fine. Also a lot of it is human error or inexperience, so if you don't already play with linux, BackTrack is as good as any place to learn it, and if you do, then you should be right at home.

Edited by digip