Please Provide Tools On Becoming An Ethical Hacker

LawBobLoblaw

Hello,

New guy here, referred by some folks on Reddit. Recently, a department where I work is opening up to digital forensics and ethical hacking. I'm interested in ethical hacking enough to make it a career. Currently, I'm studying to take ECCouncil's Certified Ethical Hacker exam. I believe by the time the position is open, I'll have passed the test. Nonethless, my hands-on experience is lacking. I've read through some threads here and it seems like ethical hacking may be more of capitilizing on a hobby rather than a trade I could pick up within 6-12 months. Regardless, I'm willing to learn, try, and keep motivated. My question to you guys is if you may provide any tools I can put this theory to the test on, or books I could read, or other websites that would help me learn.

Thanks in advance!

First off all welcome to Hak5 forums. Secondly there are so many books and tools available that I am not sure which one to recommend. But what I would definitely recommend is to go back and watch some of the Hak5 videos, there are so many tools they use for hacking, like ophcrack for cracking windows passwords, backtrack 4 which a Linux distribution for doing network penetration testing.

I think you should head over to this link http://www.youtube.com/hak5 and watch some of their videos, to get bit more of insight on the tools they use.

Edited by Infiltrator

Right on. I have an old desktop I'll load Ubuntu on and tinker with Linux.

No problems, any questions just hit me up.

Here's a typical way I learn about things.

1. I read about X from a forum post, blog, tech "news" site, etc. I don't know much about X, so I research it because it seems interesting or I just want to broaden my knowledge, if I already have some sort of an understanding.

2. While reading about X, I come across Y. I don't know much about Y either, so step one repeats.