Protection own autorun.inf

x-quisite

Actually i have ask this question in several forum but no one can give me the answer..kind of frustrated for so long.. Look like this forum have a lot of expert in programming n hacking, so just try my luck here.

Here the case. I'm a student n have usb thumbdrive. so i always insert my usb to different pc in different lab. The virus inside all the PC really make me sick although it's simple. Coz i create my own autorun.inf (customize it for icon and etc), and when i insert it to the pc in the lab, the virus will change my autorun.inf.

The best way i think is to protect the autorun.inf file. i try usb flash disinfector and ggreat usb antibody, which will protect autorun.inf. Usb flash disinfector will protect by creating special folder for autorun.inf i believe they call it 'lp3' method. ggreat usb antibody will add special attribute (x) to the autorun.inf. i try both of them, and it successfully protect the autorun.inf.

But my problem is, i create my own autorun.inf (customize for icon and etc). Both of the program and i think all the program that protect autorun.inf will 'RESET' the autorun.inf to default before they protect it (for security purpose). I want my own autorun.inf (that i created) to be protected. Any idea? either by manual or program..

If you format the partition using NTFS you can semi protect the files with permissions. However, malware could be written to circumvent this quite easily. If you are using FAT there is basically no way to protect files from been over written short of using a physical hardware 'read only' switch.

An alternative would be to keep a backup copy of the files then use a simple script to restore the backup befor you dismount the drive each time.

• 2 weeks later...