Networking Sniffing: Usernames/Passwords/Chat/Mail/etc.

The Coding Team

Hypothetically, let's say I'm a network administrator running a Debian 5.0 linux box for my Internet router/gateway. Is there such a software package that exists that will automatically grab any interesting information going thru my gateway (obviously, I'd run the logging software -on- the gateway machine).

I'd like to do this without the client machines having to be modified in any way (Ie: no socks/proxies/etc).

Now if this was possible, I suppose I'd be interested in logging as much information as I can about each individual MAC address, such as websites visited, POP/IMAP email sent/read, usernames/passwords, Instant Messaging transcripts, etc.

I know I could whip something up using ngrep, etc... I'm just looking to see if there is already an all-in-one type solution, perhaps it would log information to a MySQL database or something.

• 4 weeks later...

Ya, there's not really any 'all-in-one' the issue with that type of thing, is its really only 'all-in-one' for a few people in the situation.. Think about adobe products.. They are amazing in parts because they all are so damn powerful, but if you have them all you can do anything. So ya, I would agree with:

ettercap, sslstrip, wireshark

one thing I can say might help, is NetWitness it reconstruct the packets into a nice GUI for more or less your "Network IT" use.. There is a free version they includes demo data to see how it works/sorts things.. One nice thing is that it will rebuild emails including images if you grab them too.

http://download.netwitness.com/download.php?src=DIRECT

wireshark and tcpdump will literally capture everything.

Right, I understand that.. I was looking for a program that organizes all of the captured data into a nice little browser interface or something. Like a tab for email captures, a tab for IM captures, a tab for websites visited, etc.