2 old computers

ParMan

i have two old computer I'm not sure of their spec they have not been turned on yet, or even plugged in. one was from my wife's work and ones was given to me from my parents. i wanted to hook them together to run as one computer and add on more later when i get them kinda like a mini supercomputer. i also want to turn these computers into a sever to run my internet, printer and files. i have plenty of external hard dive space so im not worried about that I'm just not 100% sure on what the best approach would be. i have heard of windows cluster servers and also read some thinks on Linux all my other computers run off windows one is windows 7 and the others are windows xp i didn't know if this would effect running Linux or not. Im just new to this and though it would be interesting to do let me know. your input is greatly appreciated thanks in advance.

Debian runs clustering very nicely, check out the post on the Hak5 Beowulf cluster project.

http://hak5.org/forums/index.php?showtopic=10608

i read the post and it seems they really only talked about Linux. To be honest with you I'm not very familiar with Linux. I'm afraid i will mess something up or not be able to configure it right. If i do make a cluster with linux will i still be able to network to my windows machines?

i read the post and it seems they really only talked about Linux. To be honest with you I'm not very familiar with Linux. I'm afraid i will mess something up or not be able to configure it right. If i do make a cluster with linux will i still be able to network to my windows machines?

Well.....consider this a fantastic opportunity to learn more about the open source world. Yes you can network your Wind0wz boxes with a Linux network but whip out the man files from the Debian downloads that you are going to use for the cluster and start a reading because we are all about you helping you then us helping you with the really hard parts