SB5100 Online blinking

tefybaez

Yesterday my hacked SB5100 modem stopped working, the online light keeps blinking. I read it means the ISP doesnt recognize it? or something like that, doesnt sound like its going to fix itself with time or something. I have another modem, webstard DPC2100 and that one does work when i plug it so its not the line, has to be the modem... my guess (and i could be wrong cause im a noob at this) is that i need to change the other modems MAC address...? But i have NO CLUE as to how to do this, and i dont wanna brick the modem.

You guys might say "why dont you just use the other modem?" well, the one thats not working has 512 speed, this one is 125. I had to wait like 5 minutes for this page to load!

Also, its hacked (like i said) so calling the ISP is really not an option =P

any help would be really really appreciated. Ive got torrents that need to be downloaded!

Do you also use a router with this setup or straight to the modem from the pc? I often use my router to change my ip address with my ISP by changing th emac address on the router, the power cycling the modem. If your modem worked before, then they probably allow the mac address on their network.

If its a clone and they found two on at the same time, then a DHCP conflict might arise but I doubt they would even notice, as someone would have to monitoring for such a thing or have some kind of strict rules set up to hunt down double mac addresses. I doubt thats the case.