Backtrack for Windows?

Iffy

I want to know if I can run Backtrack 3 or 4 on my Windows machine.. I am new in backtrack and was wondering if I could run it on my windows box or do i need to configure my Liunux machine for it.

You can run a live CD on your Windows PC. Boot from the CD and the OS runs entirely in RAM. It doesn't install on your hard drive, nor does it write/read data to/from it ... unless you specifically perform a write/read operation. This is the way that I first started to play around with it and I'm planning to install it into VMWare shortly.

You can run a live CD on your Windows PC. Boot from the CD and the OS runs entirely in RAM. It doesn't install on your hard drive, nor does it write/read data to/from it ... unless you specifically perform a write/read operation. This is the way that I first started to play around with it and I'm planning to install it into VMWare shortly.

i don't recommend this, because VMWare doesn't see my wireless adapter, so you can't do anything wirelessly such as aircrack or anything of the like. I'm not sure if it's just me, but how hard is it to restart your computer and boot from cd?

i don't recommend this, because VMWare doesn't see my wireless adapter, so you can't do anything wirelessly such as aircrack or anything of the like. I'm not sure if it's just me, but how hard is it to restart your computer and boot from cd?

Interesting - I didn't know that. In the last episode, Darren was playing around with BT and wireless capture. IIRC, he used his "real" eeePC rather than his VMWare on the AAO. He didn't explain why but it might relate to the situation that you've mentioned.

Has anyone else had problems using wireless with VMWare? It's not something that I had planned to do (not initially, anyway).