Earning some side income.

dummptyhummpty

I was joking with my girlfriend that it would be nice to have a second job to earn some extra income. With the summer coming up, that doesn't sound like such a bad idea. I got to thinking about jobs, using my computer knowledge, that I could do on the weekend or around my work schedule. I'm going to be taking two summer school classes (T/Th from 1pm-10pm) for the next six weeks and I'll be working 20 hours part time all summer. This kind of limits me to smaller jobs. I'm thinking some kind of consulting, but I don't want to do computer repair/troubleshooting. I used to do this for a neighbor and had a bad experience; plus, I just don't enjoy that type of thing.

I'm an independent contractor for another consultant and we mostly manage Windows servers and workstations for local, small businesses. To prevent any conflict of interest, I'd like to stay away from [managing] Windows servers.

I've recently become interested in Linux again (Used to use RedHat 5.2 back in the day) and was trying to see if I could do anything with that. I have experience with OS X as well.

Some ideas I have quickly thought of:

1. Sell Pre-Configured Hotspots that the buyer can manage from a website*
  2. Provide Linux Based Computer Labs (solutions?) to schools*
  3. I have three older HP servers sitting around, maybe I could put them to use? (or I'm selling them)
  4. Something to do with Asterisk/Trixbox (had some experience with them at one point)
  5. Helping people use "Web 2.0" for Marketing (I know very little about marketing - only took one marketing class)
  6. VM/Virtulization (I'm really interested in this and I could use the practice/experience at work, since we are starting to use it more)
  7. Car computers? (meh...)
  8. Something to do with home network setup/layout/design (NAS, Wireless, ETC)**
  9. EDIT: Something to do with home theater setup? (I'm not good on equipment recommendations though)