Call all net admins

Iain

I'm a mature student at college in the UK ("mature" is an official term for "over 25"), studying an IT-related course. One of the network administrators had to visit us recently and we got talking. The network is locked down very hard and he volunteered some information about something that they'd identified and had had to deal with (no, I *wasn't* engaged in social engineering!). He mentioned that some students had tried to access cmd.exe, regedit.exe etc. by converting to hex and entering into start>run. For instance, enter %63%6d%64%2e%65%78%65 (the equivalent of cmd.exe) and he showed me that it was blocked.

I tried a similar manoeuvre at home on my own system but it doesn't work, so I suspect that he was either mistaken in the exact technique or he was giving me BS. I know there have been MANY, MANY posts about "how to open a command prompt" etc., along with multiple novel techniques, but I'd not heard about anything like this. Does anyone know more about this (or a similar) technique. Does it work? Has it ever?