Windows 7 Upgrade ?

L337G33K

First here are my PC Specs

Core 2 Quad 2.6ghz,2 Gb DDR2 Mem,XFX Nvidia Geforce 8600GT and I'm currently running Windows XP.

Now for the question.Is the beta release of Windows 7 stable and usable?That I can install it as the lone OS without XP.Do Windows Vista and XP Apps work in Se7en?

Please gimme suggestions.

It'll be stable and usable, or they wouldn't release it for beta, but it won't have the driver / application support you might expect from a retail version. I wouldn't put my high spec pc in the hands of an unfinished operating system.

Also, I've never used a beta before, don't they expire after x months or something?

Its basically Vista R2, so it will run fine on that kit. More memory is always good with the 6.x windows builds but its not that important in the scheme of things (4GB+ is the sweetspot with Vista x64). It will probally be fine for the majority of things, but it will expire and some apps/drivers might not install/run properly. Basically its going to be fine for a secondary system but until its released Vista will probally be a better choice for your main system.

Also, I've never used a beta before, don't they expire after x months or something?

The Beta will stop working on August 1, 2009. To continue using your PC, please be prepared to reinstall a prior version of Windows or a subsequent release of Windows 7 before the expiration date. You won’t be able to upgrade from the Beta to the final retail version of Windows 7.

Straight copy n paste from their site XD

Yea, really wouldn't bother running Windows 7. I got 7000 build around the time it was leaked, just to have a look around. Looking promising in some areas, got rid of a load of crap that Vista had and didn't need and nobody wanted, manages system resources much better too. I would recommend running it as a virtual machine rather than installing over your current OS. Using like Microsoft Virtual PC 2007, simple and easy to use, and free.