Simple ownage guide? Black list White list has me confused

So I got my fon up and running karma and Jasager. But I am confused as how to get it working. Say I want to play with my neighbor's wireless networks (with consent of course) How do I add them (Black list / whitelist... ??) and how do I intercept traffic? The interface is a little raw right now and it's confusing me. Also, they should not see any difference in there connection right? In other words they should still be able to surf the web right? I tried it on my own dlink g router and it just seemed to shut down my connection.

Lastly... is the "pineapple hack" just there to sniff ssid's so that you can use that to connect later on with a non-authorized laptop? If so how does that info get extracted?

As you see I'm a little confused on this one.... I'm a system admin but not an network admin ;)

I'm not to clear on this either, but I think in order for "your neighbor" to be able to still surf the web. You need to setup ICS or something of the like to share the internet through your laptop which would be in the middle.

People would then connect to the FON which is connected to your laptop, then access the net through that.

That way you would be in the middle and be able to sniff the packets.

The whitelist and blacklist also has me confused. But I know if I blacklist OpenWrt and try to connect to that SSID, it refuses the connection.

OK, information on the difference.......