Problems at step 11

Ok, to start off I'm a newb to most of this stuff. I started this project to give me a challenge and also for educational purposes. Basically, I have followed the tutorial to the "T". The problem I am experiencing is when the flash utility is running I can get it to see the FON and start the process, it flashes the root without a hitch but when it goes to flash the kernel I get an error and then it closes. I don't have the exact error due to the fact that almost immediately after it throws the error the utility closes itself(which I have read is normal). I have tried the flashing process both directly connected from my computer to the FON and also through a switch, both return the same results. I'm kinda stuck at this point and any insight to what the problem can be would be greatly appreciated.

There is only one thing that I think COULD be the problem, yet i doubt it is: When I patched the RedBoot and kernel the directions say to patch the kernel, then reboot -- did that and it rebooted fine-- then when I patched the Redboot it rewrote fine and completed but upon a reboot there it didn't come back and just hung, I unplugged it and plugged it back in and continued on.

If the RedBoot file is corrupted or I the fact it didn't boot back up after a reboot, is my FON screwed? or can I still push on due to the fact I am able to get the utility to kickoff, read and pickup my FON, and start the flashing process?

Thx guys for any help!

One last thing, I'm doing this on Ubuntu 8.04, and for the utility I had to switch to windows to run the .exe

OK, got it to actually flash. I think I know the reason now.