Enumerate images on websites

Ruck

Recently I have subscribed to a website for Real Estate agency, since I am look to buy a house. One of the requirements was to upload a scan of my passport. Already a bit anxious about the security I have covered sensitive elements with black tape before scanning and added a watermark stating the purpose of the scan before uploading.

Not really suprised I got a mail stating my subscription was received with a direct link to the passport image uploaded. I have subscribed a second time to find out that the proces is the same and the link showed similar layout/components:

<URL> / attachment_answers/000/428/835/<filename>.jpg.jpg?<id value>

Compairing the received URL's to the image I did not find usable logic (for me).

The numbering in the URL seems to be site generated (and problably related to project and subscription numbering), but not easy guessable/predictable. The filename corresponds to my uploaded filename + jpg extension (hence the double jpg). The ID value does not seem to prevent anything (removing still displays the passport image).

Since I did not discover any real security countermeasures, I am wondering if tooling exists or could easily be created/scripted that is able to discover other images on the site, some sort of image scraping. Googling this question only returns scrapers with (wordlisting? bruteforcing?) filenames or directories. I want to know both for my own education (I'm active in the IT audit & security domain) and to be able to notify the Real Estate agency, but provided with a Proof of Concept (if it's easy to perform and within legal boundaries/responsible disclosure).

Could anyone indicate wheter or not this is possible? And maybe an indication of effort and/or tooling required?

If this requires additional information and/or further background of my intentions, please let me know what is required.